1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help needed with sony 33

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by John F, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. John F

    John F
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    3,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +110
    I have tried to record some footage from vhs onto my 33 however all a get is a blank screen. I am using the 3 audio leads from the front of the vcr to the camcorder. Can anyone help this is driving me nuts its the first time with any av in camcorder this has happenend. ty
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Normally the AV ports on the front of a VCR are inputs only.
    Try connecting via the scart output on the back of the VCR.

    Mark.
     
  3. John F

    John F
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    3,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +110
    MarkE19
    Have tried front audios and scart output neither have worked gone through instructions carried them out and still nothing. Have you used yours and did it work
    ty
     
  4. melliott1963

    melliott1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I assume you are using a SCART adaptor to connect your camcorder leads to the SCART socket on the VCR. Note that the ones usually supplied with camcorders are input only (i.e. to go from camcoder to VCR). You need to get an adaptor that is wired for output (maplins sell them).

    Do this and you should find all will be OK.
     
  5. John F

    John F
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    3,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +110
    melliott1963
    have tried a scart adaptor with input & output still no joy.
     
  6. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Are you putting the Camcorder into VCR mode?
    In the normal mode a camcorder will only try to record through the lens & mic, but in VCR mode it takes the input from the AV socket.

    Mark.
     
  7. John F

    John F
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    3,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +110
    MarkE19
    tried putting it in vcr mode have gone through the instructions in fine detail nothing is working for me a think the av in might not be enabled. ty for your help.
     
  8. Duncan Craig

    Duncan Craig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Grim North
    Ratings:
    +17
    It is enabled on the 33.

    Try connect audio first from anything like a cd player or hifi separate, you should hear the audio on the camera speaker if the volume on the 33 is up. I think the 33 should do this , although some systems need a video signal for the audio to work as well. Try this first, also the camera has to be in VTR mode, with AV-DV on, not in camera mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...