1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed with Sim2 Ht300

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by godzilla, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    Still very happy with my Sim2, but:
    1) I'm having trouble getting a component picture from my Denon DVD-A1, the picture comes out split vertically in two when viewed on the YCrCb input. S-video is fine (and can be upconverted to component by my A1SR, but that is not progressive scan obviously).

    2) Has anyone come up with a relatively simple way of attenuating some of the colour wheel whine? I've been told boxes aren't a good idea due to cooling, but is a foam lined plywood sheet going to make any difference for example?
     
  2. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Are you using the correct input on the sim 2 for progressive?

    YCrCb 32..... not YCrCb 15 which is for interlaced.
     
  3. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'll give that a try tonight, but I think I did try all the permutations, but I can't be certain.
     
  4. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    thanks chips,
    I can now get a picture by using the ycrcb 32 input as you suggested, but looking at eg the menu page of a dvd there is a slight lateral distortion about 1/3rd and 2/3rd up the screen where a few lines seem displaced (any still vertical line like the edge of a menu icon has a kink at these two points).
    This distortion is not visible on the interlaced 15khz setting.

    Most annoyingly, I still can't get any picture if using my Denon A1SR as video switcher rather than directly connecting the dvd player. An "out of range" message flashes up in the centre of the screen when using the ycrcb 32 input when the signal is routed thru the amp.

    Any advice gratefully received!
     
  5. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Can't help with either I'm afraid, both sound like Denon Issues.

    I don't get the picture distortion you describe with my Toshiba.

    I would have thought that the A1SR would be able to pass a progressive signal though :confused:
     
  6. Gary Nash

    Gary Nash
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +17
    I've noticed horizontal distortion and sideways 'twitch' with svideo and component interlaced connections - but only with PAL discs.
    Spoke with OWL, who were aware of this problem.
    The fix is to change the video mode (I think thats the option - you'll find it on the brightness menu) from 'normal' to 'vcr' and the picture stabilises.
     
  7. -Spike-

    -Spike-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +171
    Had the same on my HT300.
    Wondered if it was a Macrovision issue as I didn't notice it on PAL DTS demo discs :confused:
    I've since switched to using progressive scan which eliminated the problem, plus I prefer the picture (IMO) :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...