1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed with NTSC to PAL

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by zapata, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi folks ! Need a NTSC to PAL converter that has RF aerial connections, not sure if such a thing exists but I will explain the problem. Via sat tv (motorised) I am picking up an NTSC channel for my wife but my widescreen tv won't pick it up correctly, only in B&W but picture is ok. Need a converter to get a colour piccy ! TV is running off a distribution system via a loftbox so need something that takes a RF connector. TV downstairs is ok and different make so obviously accepts an NTSC signal and converts it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Astaroth

    Astaroth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +95
    From what I have read elsewhere, it is possible to get what you ask for but the basic models are very expensive and give very poor results, the average models are stupidly expensive and give average results and the decent ones give good results but cost more than a family car
     
  3. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    That's correct.

    In fact it would be cheaper to buy a new TV that can handle the various systems (as a lot can these days).

    Good luck. :)
     
  4. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes I think I will have to move a few tv's around, I just thought there may have been a simple solution !
     
  5. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    You could try passing the signal through a pc and use a program such as powersrtip. I do this for my Optoma RD65 as it can accept a 60hz signal without juddering. I am not sure if powerstrip will solve your problems but windvd 6 has a PAL mode for just the problem you are talking about but this will only help on dvd's. Pop in the entertainment forums and ask there for a pc program that coud help if powerstrip doesnt help.

    Good Luck :D
     
  6. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks Razor for the idea ! I think the pc is a bit too far away. I think some moving of equipment will be needed.
     
  7. Razor

    Razor
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    37,545
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,498
    Cool, good luck I hope you get it sorted out :)
     
  8. Cliff

    Cliff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Kent & overseas
    Ratings:
    +1,687
    Zapata - you say you get a picture that in black and white? If this is the case then a colour converter is all you need and not a standards converter.

    Anyway Maplin sell one for £50 (code NZ77J) . RF output as well..
     
  9. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    The vast majority of cheap 14" portable TVs will display NTSC fine via their SCART or phono video inputs ; I once had to check this for a demo of a USA-based videoconferencing system. Instead of hiring 2 NTSC monitors, I purchased 2 cheap Proline TVs from Comet at 70 quid each and saved the company a fortune.
    I confirmed NTSC compatibility by taking a digital camera with NTSC output into Comet (with the required video lead). I also tested a Sharp and a Bush 14 incher in our house at the same time; all worked fine with NTSC.

    Chris Muriel (normally in Manchester but currently at NAB show in Las Vegas - www.nabshow.org )
     
  10. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    @ Cliff, are you sure that the device you mentioned has an rf connector only I am looking at the piccy and it only seems to have RCA connectors for say a camcorder or ps2.
     
  11. Cliff

    Cliff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Kent & overseas
    Ratings:
    +1,687
    If you open the pdf sheet it says RF out PAL 1 Ch 36. and
    output connectors - 1 Video, 1 audio, 1 RF.
    Maybe the connectors are on the other side.
     
  12. zapata

    zapata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Camberley
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hmmm strange as I phoned Maplin and they opened the box and said it has no rf connector although the chap did say that there are 3 or 4 different models so think I will have to go and look myself. I actually kind of solved the problem any by moving 2 tv's around. Moved the 32" widescreen form upstairs to the living room, nearly killed me as there are no handles and very wide for the stairs so slid it bit by bit down the stairs ! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...