1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help needed with my arcam dv88

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Twan1, Dec 30, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    can anyone tell me if my arcam dv88 with the prog scan board will let an external lumagen scaler do the de interlacing or should this be done by my player?

    (i hope this makes sense but i am very new to this, sorry)

    the other question is a see alot about the arcam 78 and 79 can send 480i and 576i etc. (numbers might be wrong), but what does mine do??? arcam site doesnt have any info on this as its an old player.
     
  2. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a DV88 Plus with the PS board and it provides two sets of component outputs. One (the original component out) is always interlaced. The other (the PS board component out towards the top of the player) is always deinterlaced. Is an upgraded DV88 the same, i.e. do you have 2 sets of component outputs? If so, use the original component out to feed to the external Lumagen.

    Dean
     
  3. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    hiya dean, thanks very much for your help!

    yeah you are right, never noticed before but it has 2 sets of component, one at the top where its in a line (whats it plugged into at the moment) and the other is beneath it in a square block kinda thing (instead of a line) so thats the one i will use when i get the lumagen! so would this dvd player send 480i & 576i (pal and ntsc) to the lumagen?

    thanks for the link hifi addict, i've saved it, looks like a usefull tool!
     
  5. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, the component out at the top is your PS board and only outputs progressive video. The one in the middle ouputs only an interlaced signal. Both outputs are active simultaneously (I utilize this to support both interlaced and progressive connections to my display).

    Your player will output 576 for PAL and 480 for NTSC.
     
  6. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    thanks again dean, im finally long last beginning to understand! i've have one last question for you but i think its off thread so i'll pm you,
     

Share This Page

Loading...