Help needed using Surround Sound through SkyHD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by portwaygang, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. portwaygang

    portwaygang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, i have a wlt68 Toshiba TV, ***** i know!! but will have to do for now, just bought a Samsung HT-D5100 Blu-Ray 5.1 Surround Sound System, and also have Sky HD. I have so far my Sky HD with HDMI to TV, Samsung Blu-Ray to TV with HDMI and Optical out from Sky to Blu-Ray. I put the required setting on the Blu-Ray for Optical but get no sound. The cable is beaming red no problem. If i watch a DVD surround works, If i take the Optical out of Sky and put into back of TV i can get freeview surround but whatever i do i get no Sky surround and thats the main reason i bought it. Please help me i have no idea what to do next. Thanks.:confused:
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
  3. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Try going into the Sky Audio options and changing to Dolby.
     
  4. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +666
    Sky hdmi only does stereo sound, doesn't it, unless latest models are different

    Output sky box to sound system via optical or digital co-ax
     
  5. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    "Sky hdmi only does stereo sound, doesn't it, unless latest models are different

    Output sky box to sound system via optical or digital co-ax"


    "Optical out from Sky to Blu-Ray. I put the required setting on the Blu-Ray for Optical but get no sound."

    Eh?
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    Yes, the connections are right.
    The only detail in the manual that might be relevant it is "Press the FUNCTION button to select D.IN input. The mode switches as follows : BD/DVD D. IN AUX R. IPOD W. IPOD FM".
     
  7. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just wired in a new optical lead from my pace bd box to a Panasonic 5.1 br amp/player , could not get any sound at speakers till I switched setti g on bd box on digital audio output from Dolby digital to normal
    Sound is fine but. It sending proper surround signal to amp I'd say

    Any ideas
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    What is a "pace bd box", and what is the question?
     
  9. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    He means he has a Pace Sky+ HD box. He's stating that when his optical output was set to Dolby Digital his home cinema could not decode the signal received from the Sky box. When he set it to Stereo (or Normal as he calls it) then the home cinema could decode it. Though quite why he thinks this is "proper surround sound" is anybody's guess. It's probably converting the stereo input to Dolby Pro-Logic, which may be good enough for him.

    Obviously his home cinema is not set up properly, and is only expecting a PCM stereo signal to be input via optical, rather than set to Auto-detect whatever audio input it receives.
     
  10. portwaygang

    portwaygang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, yes D.Input is selected but still no sound. Rang Toshiba and they said it will not work with their TV's which i find strange. I think i will never get my answer. Oh and Dolby settings etc on Sky box are all correct.
     
  11. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    You are aware that the optical connection on the back of the Toshiba WLT68 is an output (to output audio from the TV to a surround sound system), not an input, aren't you? And that the Toshiba does not have a Dolby Digital (or DTS) decoder built into it, so couldn't process digital audio even if you did find a means of sending DD to it anyway?

    But more importantly, why have you phoned Toshiba? Your problem is getting surround sound from the Amstrad Sky box to the Samsung home cinema - what advice did you expect Toshiba to give you? Why didn't you phone Samsung?
     
  12. portwaygang

    portwaygang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, i am aware its only stereo signal from Optical on TV, I just wanted to make sure the Optical input on Surround was working. Yes i know it is output. I rang Toshiba because i originally rang Samsung, they said connected ok but its an issue with tv, also rang sky and they said it not an issue with HD box so i am completely stumped.
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    Samsung support are usually good but they let you down badly there, as obviously the TV has nothing to do with it.
    The next thing to do is to try the alternative method of connecting the Sky machine to the Samsung, with two phono plugs, as shown at he right of the diagram on page 24, and then selecting AUX as the input instead of D-IN.
     
  14. portwaygang

    portwaygang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for that. I have connected two phono plugs from the Sky to the Samsung and the sound is working, but when i pull the optical cable out it makes no difference. I presume that i have normal sound and not dolby digital, is there anything else i can do?
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    That's a favourable sign then.:smashin:
    Although you said the optical cable is showing light at the end I think it would be a good idea to try a new one.
     
  16. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +666
    If the cable is showing light is it not more lightly :)devil:) that there is a problem with the settings?
     
  17. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    Set the Samsung home cinema up so that it expects a Bitstream (digital surround) input via its optical, not PCM stereo only.
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    The manual says that it does not support bitstream.:thumbsdow
     
  19. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +666
    Then a new one won't work either

    Why is this stuff so totally complicated?:mad:
     
  20. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    A new what?:confused:
    And it isn't complicated normally - just plug and play.:)
     
  21. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +666
    That new one you suggested
     
  22. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    It can take something other than bitstream.:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice