1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed to defrag hard drive and other.

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Ged, Jun 13, 2004.

1. Ged

Ged

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi, firstly I have very little knowledge of PC's but can do with some help with a recent problem on this one.
    All has been well until last weekend when it decided not to boot up, returning to a warning screen about possible hardware faults or power problems etc.
    It gave me 30 secs or so to change how to restart the PC, none of which got it going.
    Took it to be fixed and the guy fixed it, said the drive had lots of corrupted or bad areas I think but said the hard drive "may" die at some unknown point but it is working for now.
    What I cannot do is run the defragment tool as it says,
    "Chkdsk is scheduled to run on the volume. Please run Chkdsk /f."
    I do this but knothing happens and the problem persits, any ideas?
    Also the start up screen says something like "checking file system......" which it didn't use to do.
    Apart from the above question some advice on whether to have a new HDD fitted and how to save the programs on this one would be appreciated

:lease:

2. The Dude

The Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,172
    it sounds like you're not letting the chkdsk utility ( the checking disk you see on startup ) finish its check Ged.. ?

you get a prompt 'press any key to cancel disk checking' or similar..

Dont press anything and it should then go through and check all the files and folders. This could take some time, depending on how much data you have on your drive.

It won't let you defrag until chkdsk has finished and made any neccessary repairs to the files / folders on the Disk..