1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed re: aspect ratio

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by terrythecat, Oct 21, 2003.

  1. terrythecat

    terrythecat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    My son has just re-formated my HCPC and loaded everything from scratch but now the aspect ratio is wrong. If my sums are right, then with a 7ft screen a 1:85.1 image should be about
    80ins x 43ins but is only 33.5ins high, and a 1:2.35 image should be 80ins x 34ins but is only 26.5ins high. It is now 2 years since the HCPC was built for me and I can't remember all the in's and out's. What programs should I be looking at and specifically what should I be doing with them. Thanks in advance for any pointers.

    AMD Athlon 1133 mhz
    Radion 32mb Video card
    PowerDvd
    Powerstrip
    Regionkiller
    Barco 808s proj.
     
  2. terrythecat

    terrythecat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    To add to the above - Do I need Dscaler for DVD playback ?
    It was on the HCPC before but my son says it is only for use with a TV card. I'm not so sure!
    If so, what version should we download. Also, I can't remember where the deinterlacer 'on/off switch' is. My son seems to think that PowerDvd is deinterlacing the film, but again I'm not to sure.
     
  3. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,092
    It sounds like PDVD is doing the 16:9 squish, and so is your display device. Untick 'keep aspect ratio' in PDVD and it should go back to normal.

    You don't need DScaler unless you have a suitable capture card (tv card) for external inputs such as a laserdisk player.

    Gary.
     
  4. terrythecat

    terrythecat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Gary - that's done the trick! although at first I thought it wasn't because the first 1:85.1 film I tried ( The English patient ) came out wrongly sized. So then I tried a 1:2.35 ( gladiator ) and that came out correctly sized. So, now completely confused I tried another 1:1.85 ( Jackie Brown ) and that was spot on. I watched a rental last night and that was the correct height. I can only assume that the information on the box of 'The English patient' is wrong. It does not do what it say's on the tin.

    cheers

    Terry
     

Share This Page

Loading...