Help needed please: Which plasma would be best for my needs & room size?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Saif Siddiqui, Jan 9, 2008.

1. Saif Siddiqui

Saif Siddiqui

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All!

First let me start by saying that I have been lurking on these forums for a while but have only just plucked up the courage to start posting... I'm a total newbie when it comes to AV related stuff so please be gentle.

We're in the process of buying a new TV and would like to join the rat race and pick up a decent plasma. The problem is that we are constrained by budget to about 1k at best, as I also would like to hold some back for the audio kit and a decent unit (but might be able to stretch if convinced otherwise - maybe up to £1.5kish). I'd like to be able to get a plasma and a stand for that price as the wall we'll be placing the screen in front of is a stud partition wall and it won't take the load of a plasma.

The room is approximately 13x18ft and we're just planning on having the TV at one end and the sofa pretty much up against the wall at the other end.

As for inputs; to start with it will be freeview/sky on a daily basis along with upscaled SD material. I don't have the budget right now to move to true HD inputs but am planning to later in the year, so I really would like something offering 1080p to future proof my purchase. I'm not a gamer (not anymore anyways - simply don't have the time) but might be shelling out for an Xbox or PS3 late this year too.

I've looked at the measurements for 50" screens and just feel that I would be thinking I should have gone for something bigger in a few months time. The problem there then is the cost of creeping up towards a 60" screen.