1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help needed on which wall mount to buy for pw6?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by 2naughty4u, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. 2naughty4u

    2naughty4u
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey guys

    I just bought a panasonic th42pw6 and I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on a reliable,strong and safe wall mount (I will be mounting the plasma on a solid brick wall)

    I was looking for just a simple flat wall type mount (but I dont mind a titling one as long as its about 20-30mm from the wall) and I found these:

    video services, veda debut for pany £120

    av sales slim tilting mount for £109

    rs100 ultraslim mount for £79

    can anyone recommend the best one or if youve got any suggestion. I would be very grateful

    :thumbsup:

    ps would I need to require any depth bars for my plasma?
     
  2. Tarsh

    Tarsh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the AV-Sales mount with my Panny 42PH7, it was very easy to install. :)

    No experience with any others, though.
     
  3. Supersonic72

    Supersonic72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can recommend the AV sales mount which I stuck up on the wall on Saturday

    Me and my old man located it on the wall with a 18mm sheet of MDF to create
    a solid sandwich to the wall, so the plasterboard didnt shear all the weight by
    itself, and got me some 90mm long window fixing screws/plugs to sink into
    the wall. B & Q have them, theyre in the red bags for heavy duty weights.

    I got the 8mm head bolts, and would have gone for the 12mm ones but they
    were longer too at 110mm, but I didnt have a long enough or wide enough bit
    for my drill. Otherwise, they would have been a nice deep fit.
     
  4. 2naughty4u

    2naughty4u
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the reply guys

    I was also wondering how slim is the wall mount from avsales?

    and is the panasonic rs100 flat wall mount as good as the veda debut?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  6. 2naughty4u

    2naughty4u
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for that HD

    would I need spacers for my pw6?

    by the way what wall mount do you have for your plasma?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you will need spacers (large nuts work but proper spacers better), and who said i had a plasma???
     
  8. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are the spacers for? do they sit behind the mount to space it from the wall?
     
  9. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, what are the "space bars" for?
     
  10. GiZZeRR

    GiZZeRR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just put up mine with the RS brackets and it was a doddle to do. Yes no spacers but I didn't use any anyway. I just used the longer bolts and tightened them a little tighter than finger tight. No way are they going to work loose while it is hung on the wall. If your worried about that hapening then just use some loctite on the threads but I would not worry about it.
     
  11. mooic

    mooic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Widnes, Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all, this ios my first post so go easy on me :)

    The spacers are used to space the bracket from tha back of the panel because the bolt holes are recessed, if you dont use ny you could damage the back of the panel!!! (over 200 wall mounts and still going!!!!)
     
  12. GiZZeRR

    GiZZeRR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes as far as I can see if you keep tightning up on the bolts it will pull the back of the panel casing in.....as I said if you use the longer bolts, tighten finger tight and then a little bit more you should not have a problem. If you're worried then use some sort of spacer....mines is up now and is perfect and there is no way the bolts will unscrew themselfs.
     
  13. 2naughty4u

    2naughty4u
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the reply back geezer

    what are the bars like that fit on the back of the plasma. are they quite slim & strong? and can you lock the plasma in place once youve mounted it?

    and can you get spacers from B&Q? or do they have to be specially order or something

    sorry bout the silly questions but I really new to all of this :confused:
     
  14. normies

    normies
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - first time poster!

    I have a PW6 and I have seen OMNIMOUNT brackets, they look very strong, but are expensive, anyone know about um?
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215

Share This Page

Loading...