1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed from Sony TV & Sky Digi owners!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by jamesrich, May 2, 2003.

  1. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I own a sony KV32FX65U. Although generally happy with the set. I always get the impression that the sides of the picture are been cropped in 4:3.

    The comet engineers i've had out disagree, they've told me that this behavoir is 'in spec`.
    Though when using interactive features on Sky News for example. Part of the text is missing, on the right hand side.
    I've attached a picture of the complete picture from DScaler, and approximatly how much of it i'm getting on my Sony. As you can see, the cropping on the top of the screen is not consistant with the cropping on the sides.

    I've got them coming back tomorrow, can some of you check to see how much of the screen your seeing on your set.

    Particulary intrested in replies from other KV32FX65 owners.

    Thanks a lot.

    JAMES RICHARDS
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The overscan settings affect 4:3 mode too on most Sony sets. Should be easily corrected via the geometry options in the service menu.
     
  3. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    You'd expect so, but there doesn't seem to be an option to adjust this `blanking`.
    The options there only make the * currently viewable* picture bigger and smaller.
     
  4. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I see what you mean now, sorry. So it's actually like there's no extra image there beyond the 'clipped' point?
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    What happens when you adjust the horizontal size ?
     
  6. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    No extra detail is availiable, the options will only change the size of the currently viewable image.
     
  7. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it do this with other inputs viewed in 4:3, e.g. DVD? And does it do it with S-Video, RGB and composite, or just certain of these?
     
  8. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yep, same behavoir whether the input comes from s, rgb or comp. Tested from VCR, PC, DVD, Sky.
     
  9. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very odd! I have the LS60 myself and don't have that problem, so I hope they can sort it for you and it's not just a 'peculiarity' of that particular model :)
     
  10. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not 100% sure this is valid for a FX65 but....
    In the geometry service menu in 4:3 make a note of and then adjust the LBLK and RBLK settings.
     
  11. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3

    I don't have these options, unfortunatly.

    Though I do have Hue1Mdelay mentioned at
    http://www.kv32tweak.freeuk.com/servicemenu/feature.html

    This allows me to move the image horizontally left and right, so i can see the picture i`m missing, though only one side at a time. Moving it to the left, will reveal more picture at the right within the 4:3 frame, but at the cost of cropping more picture to left.
     
  12. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Squirrel god, on your LS60, in Sky News active, do you see the edge of the dark section, and the light blue bar down the side?
     
  13. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may be obvious, but I assume the cropping is the same left and right? And you have centred the picture? (using RGB centring).
    Otherwise - on the FX66 [not sure if it's the same as the FX65] - you need to access the "Panorama" service menu.
     
  14. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have Sky mate, just Freeview. Sorry.
     
  15. jamesrich

    jamesrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3

    Yep, it's at both sides. And nope i don't have panorama. Cheers anyways.

    What about anyone else, can u actually see this much of the picture?
     
  16. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's called Smart on Sony TVs. I don't think that's your problem though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...