Help needed for overlock or upgrading pc

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Sparky1970, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
    I currently have these components for my pc which I built myself back in 2010 -

    • Intel Core i3 530 2.93GHz Socket 1156 4MB L3 Retail Boxed Processor
    • Gigabyte GA-P55-US3L H55 Socket 1156 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
    • Crucial 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz/PC3-10600 Ballistix Memory Kit CL7 (7-7-7-24) 1.65V
    • Coolermaster Elite 330 Case With Coolermaster Elite 460W PSU
    • Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB SATAII 7200RPM 16MB Cache
    • Nvidia Geoforce Gtx 460
    Would like to run Battlefield 4, it already does but a bit slow and on low settings, can I try overclocking (never tried it before!) or will I need an upgrade?
     
  2. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    Upgrading the motherboard (socket 1156 is old skool now), CPU and GPU would be the best way forward, you can use your current ram on a 1155/1150 board. PSU could do with upgrading too, nothing mental, just a 500w 80+ bronze will cut it. What sort of budget have you got for the upgrade?
     
  3. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    You could try overclocking the cpu but tbh it won't make that much difference really. Your gpu is what's holding you back when you consider it's around 4 year old tech. By the time you've bought an up to date gpu and the psu to run it, you may as well upgrade the cpu and mobo too.
     
  4. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    We posted at the same time and almost echo'd each other mate!
     
  5. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
    can I overclock the gpu as well though?
     
  6. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Well you know what they say - greats minds and all that lol!! :rotfl:
     
  7. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    You won't see too much benefit, plus the 400 series cards are power hungry and I wouldn't want to overclock too much with your current psu.
     
  8. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
    ok, probably not worth experimenting with overclocking, do you have any recommendations for an upgrage, wouldn't want to spend much more than 350 to 400.
     
  9. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Possibly, but the gains you will achieve are nowhere near what you'd like them to be unfortunately. Especially if you want to run BF4 at a reasonable setting.
     
  10. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    Hang on for @Chox1988 to come live, he is our resident spec machine and will recommend something when he is on. I'll end up spending double your budget for you. :rolleyes:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Choxy will be on later and he's the goto guy when you're looking for upgrades. His help is way more than I could give you. :smashin:
     
  12. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
  13. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Bloody hell, we've done it again lol!! :laugh:
     
  14. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    I swear this mofo is reading my mind! :rotfl:
     
  15. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,934
    For £350-400 you could get a GTX780 but that would most likely be bottlenecked by your CPU
    You could upgrade the CPU but then that would still mean a slow GPU
    Maybe pick up a second hand CPU (never looked into the skt 1156 so don't know much about them). An i5 would most likely cost around £70-100 depending on which one. Which leaves say £250 for a new GPU, most likely a r280x or GTX 770 at a push
    There was a GTX 680 in the classifieds for £168 I think which would then give you some cash to upgrade CPU
     
  16. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    Tbh the number 1 option here is a Mobo gpu cpu upgrade if you've got the money. That i3 is long in the tooth now. What you thinking of spending?
     
  17. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,934
    He says further up he's got £350-400. Which may struggle to get all the above
     
  18. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    Sorry I'm on a tablet so must've missed that. Sell what you've got and grab a second hand i5 system, ideally with a 7950, after selling that should be in budget, just.
     
  19. Hillskill

    Hillskill
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,841
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +5,645
    I don't think you can overclock on the H55 chipset.
     
  20. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    You can overclock on the h55 chipset pal. :)
     
  21. Hillskill

    Hillskill
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,841
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +5,645
    I always thought it was nerfed! Perhaps it depends on the board!?
     
  22. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    It could well depend on the board, I had a H55 board when 1156 was launched and managed to take an i5 670 from 3.46ghz to 4.3ghz. If I remember right I had to change the voltage and offset settings.
     
  23. Hillskill

    Hillskill
    Moderator/Games Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,841
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere being wrong but staying strong
    Ratings:
    +5,645
    My main workstation is still an 1156 i7. My six core titan beast is actually our "family" pc down in the living room. I could have swapped them round but the 1156 i7 does a great job on all my video work so I didn't see the point in swapping. I have had about 4 or 5 1156 rigs over the years and they have all been the easiest overclockers. I even gave one to my parents and gave it a sneaky overclock :D totally wasted on them but there you go :)
     
  24. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    An 1566 paired with an i7 isn't a redundant machine by no means! And the overclock isn't wasted on your parents pc either, it means they will/should get an extra couple of years out of it. :)
     
  25. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
    Thanks for reply, should I be looking for a specific processor model?
     
  26. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    either a 3570k or 4670k ideally, could go for non k versions as well if one came up at the right price.
     
  27. Sparky1970

    Sparky1970
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +103
    Just as a matter of interest, which i7 processor is recommended and if I upgraded my existing system would I need to change my 460 w power supply? I'm considering this for longer term. If you have some links to bundles of components that would be great!
     
  28. Chox1988

    Chox1988
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    16,793
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +9,161
    if youre buying new a 4770k, and yeah you're gonna wanna upgrade your psu, if youre going to invest in something for the long term then its worth sinking some reasonable money in so it lasts.

    page 1-

    Spec me a gaming pc... updated 11/02/14 | AVForums
     

Share This Page

Loading...