1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help, need to shop now

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by novice2, Dec 21, 2004.

1. novice2

novice2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I am new at this. I have no idea what I am doing but have cash burning a hole in my pocket and a desire for some top notch AV equipment. Unfortunately the missus has only allowed me the use of a small room so I am contemplating the TH37PE30 with the pedestal stand (seems to be the least offensive model for the lasses according to the threads I have read while offering good results). As to the other equipment I have, I am looking for a total upgrade from the equipment I have had since university. I currently have an ELAC sub & sat system which I am fairly happy with (only allowed sub & sat with the room available) and bargain basement Toshiba 220e dvd player. I am looking for a DVD player for around £500, a receiver for around £1000 to hook up to the panny and my SKY+. PLEASE provide suggestions and advice as to whether I should be getting the panny.

All providers of advice will receive a free lollipop in the post*

(*subject to availability)

2. madasahat

madasahat
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    get yorself a nice hitachi 42pd5200 nokes the spots off other plasmas

3. Leigh_1973

Leigh_1973

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    thats not what everyone else says ;)

4. loonatic

loonatic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Most people will invariably think that the one they have bought and just spent thousands of pounds on is the best...but what suits one person may not suit another...if possible go and have a look yourself at the various models - they each have their own pro's and con's.

Questions to ask yourself, amongst others, are: