1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP, need to record audio from a microphone, into my line-in socket on MP3 player!

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by jskjas, May 22, 2005.

1. jskjas

jskjas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, my mp3 player has a line-in socket and I want to capture audio from an external microphone, into this line-in (i don't have a mic-in on this mp3 player).

Is there anyway of doing this, whether it is using some sort of connector in between, or a transformer. I can't seem to pick up anything. I know the microphone itself works, as my MiniDisc has a mic-in which can record the mic audio - yet I want to capture it on my mp3 player if I can.

Please, can anyone help!

2. Cardiff Irons

Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm no expert, but it might be useful if you can tell us what mp3 player you have.

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    What you need is a microphone preamp such as This to boost the level output from the mic to line level.

Mark.

4. jskjas

jskjas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, cheers for the current replies.

The MP3 player is an XDRUM XD403-PRO, and has a capacity of 1GB (here's a link to its brief description + pic: http://www.kjglobal.co.uk/acatalog/XDrum_XD403.html).

I actually checked out this maplin preamp a couple of days back, but it states that it needs to be plugged into a mains. I intend to make some short movies with mine, so would ideally would want something that is mobile, which the actor could walk around with - i.e. if it was wireless or phantom powered.

Is there a wireless or phantom powered alternative to this preamp?

5. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393