Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

HELP! - n00b Home Cinema/ Audio Setup

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by emers0n, Oct 27, 2005.

1. emers0n

emers0n

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

I've just signed up, i'm looking for some advice, i'm sure you can help!

I'm totally new to the AV scene, I'm looking to get a setup for a about £600ish give or take £100...I would like to be be suitable for both Listening to Music and Playing Movies...

I've been told that a good budget all round amp is the Cambridge Audio 540R...so i've set my sights on that already...

Looking to get maybe just a 3 speaker setup at the mo...money permitting...consisting of Front speakers and a centre speaker...

The question being, Which speakers would be good all rounders for both Music and Movies...in a reasonably small room.

I'm interested in the Kef Q Compact and Q6C Centre...what do you think?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

2. Knyght_byte

Knyght_byte

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +599
    well, tbh if you are happy to do what i did and build the system up over a bit of time, i would consider this route, get the Denon 1906 receiver amp, and a pair of Monitor Audio RS1's.......now thats going to pretty much eat up the £600, if you go to Sevenoaks for this and tell them you will eventually expand to a full system then hopefully you can get them to chuck in some speaker cable cheap or even free ;-)

the MA RS1's are lovely speakers, i have heard them now, altho i personally own the S series which is the predecessor......