1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help... my PJ keeps shutting down

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by SanPedro, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +503
    Panny A100 with 4500 hours on it.

    Powers up ok. The 'change lamp' message comes on.

    Works for about 10 minutes then goes into shutdown mode.

    Is it overheating or what? Is it worth opening the back up to see if there is a ton of dust n there?

    Cheers


    Chris
     
  2. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Maybe you have to change the lamp?

    I believe some pjs won't run until a new lamp is installed and the counter reset. Is the AE100 one of them?

    Gary.
     
  3. mickey

    mickey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    5,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +265
    definately lamp replacement needed. it even says so in the manual
     
  4. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    18,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    I thought this post was a wind up,it even tells you what the problem is. :suicide:
     
  5. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Chris,

    Good going to get 4500 hrs..... new lamp is the thing, right enough. How was it performing (apart from the need for a replacement lamp.....) after all those hours ?


    Sean.
     
  6. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +503
    Thanks for the HELPFUL replies , Gary, Mickey and Theritz. Sarcasm I don't need Hunts.

    Sean, the unit is going fine generally. A bit dimmer I guess, but the lamp was still working ok. I guessed the 'change lamp' message was a suggestion rather than an explicit order. Since the change lamp message came on I've had a least a couple of hundred extra hours out of it.

    It could do with a proper clean of the panels though as it has a mass of dust blobs on it at the moment.

    Do you still have that link to the AE100 cleaning routine that somebody once posted?

    And does anybody have any links to cheap lamp suppliers?

    Thanks lads, new I'd get the help I needed here.

    I was thnking the damn thing was overheating or something.

    Chris
     
  7. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Must be a relief to know it's not the pj going faulty though!

    I wonder if the lamp warning is meant to give you a couple of hundred hours to find a new one before it doesn't allow you to run it anymore?

    Gary.
     
  8. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Chris,

    Calibos' guide to dust blob removal is in the FAQ - Direct Link . If you need the AE100 Service manual, then it's a 13mb+ download, Right Click Here and Save Target, otherwise it'll take Acrobat an age to load it.

    If you just want to give it a blast with compressed air, there isn't any need to dismantle further than taking the cover off the projector, clear instructions in the service manual. You'll see the main circuit board, three copper coloured ribbon connectors which lead down to the LCD panels - that's where to point the compressed air, making sure that it's ONLY air that comes out, NOT PROPELLANT - propellant could make a very nice mess in the optics.

    Good Luck,

    Sean.
     

Share This Page

Loading...