Help my Bravia won't prog scan

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by petedameat, Feb 10, 2009.

Tags:
  1. petedameat

    petedameat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I have a Sony Bravia KDL 40L4000 which I use with a SONYDAVDZ260 home cinema system via HDMI. When I try to view 1080p I get pixel dots all over the screen. This does not occur using 1080i. I have tried all settings that I can see.

    Cant anybody help please.

    Thanks
     
  2. alsina

    alsina
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +605
    Where is the HDMI cable from? Might be worth trying another one as this can be a sympton of a cheaply made cable.
     
  3. petedameat

    petedameat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Alsina,

    Yes it is a cheap HDMI cable, I had a Monster cable ordered from Play.com but it never turned up so I bought a cheap one from Tesco's. I will get a hold of a better quality one and give it a go. Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. Torper

    Torper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Is there really any difference between a cheap HDMI cable and an expensive one? My understanding is that digital signals aren't affected by cheaper cables - a digital signal, unlike an analogue one, is either on or off.
     
  5. YellowSphere

    YellowSphere
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +471
    First of all a "good" cable isn't necessarily expensive. Monster, for example, is not worth the money. There are plenty of decent, not expensive, HDMI cables available from websites like amazon, ukhdmi, hdcable.co.uk, or perhaps Mark Grant.

    As the bit error rate increases over distance, or with higher bandwidth signals, on poorer cables, the likelyhood of image problems increases. These aren't necessarily completely losing the picture, but problems with dots all over the image, or sudden blocking, or dropouts or anything else. You wouldn't have things that magazines like What Hi-Fi elude to where a different cable might lead to a slight increase in sharpness or something.
     
  6. petedameat

    petedameat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone for your advive/comments.

    I tried Pure AV HDMI cable from a friend and that solved the problem. I am sure the cable debate will carry on but for now I intend to spend a few extra quid on a new HDMI cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...