1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help My Brain is Fried

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by almara, Nov 26, 2004.

1. almara

almara
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am a newbie who after much research has decided to buy SharpLC-32GA3E LCD TV and Toshiba RD-XS32 DVD recorder. TV signal is supplied by NTL cable via a Pace digibox. Set up will be used principally to watch TV (both live and recorded) and to play DVDs. I can't, however, get my head round the cabling needed so would welcome any help. The connections on the 3 pieces of kit (rear only as I don't want to use front connections) are:-

SHARP

ANTENNA IN UHF/VHF 75 q Din type

INPUT 1 SCART (AV input, RGB input, TV output)

INPUT 2 SCART (AV input/output, Y/C input, AV Link)

INPUT 3 SCART (AV input/output, Y/C input, RGB input), RCA pin (Component input)

INPUT 4 S-VIDEO (Y/C input), RCA pin (AV input)

INPUT 5 Ø 3.5 mm jack (Audio input), DVI-I (DVI-I input)

AUDIO OUTPUT RCA pin (Variable/Fixed), switchable with INPUT 4

DC OUTPUT DC 9V 7W MAX

SPEAKER External speaker output terminal (L and R)

CENTRE CHANNEL INPUT RCA pin

RS-232C D-sub 9pin male connector

TOSHIBA

Component video output

2 X Scart (RGB input and output)

S-video output

Composite video output

Optical digital audio output

Stereo analogue audio output

RF in/out

PACE

2 X Scart (only one RGB?)

I know that component video is best for DVD connection but can't see where 3 pin connection on Toshiba ties in with Sharp and am not clear on how audio is connected when using component. Also what scarts should I be connecting?

2. Mango Bob

Mango Bob
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi almara and welcome to the forum (and the cable nightmares!)

From personal experience, wait till you add an AV amp - then it really becomes fun :)