1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! - My ADSL Wifi Router keeps disconnecting

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by clivejones, Aug 20, 2004.

  1. clivejones

    clivejones
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a Belkin 54g wireless router
    http://www.dabs.com/uk/productview?quicklinx=2SFG

    and my isp is pipex

    however - it disconnects usually once a day

    and it requires me to log onto the router via my browser http://192....etc
    and click connect.

    I was on NTL cable modem broadband..and had a Netgear wireless router MR314 and never had the same trouble....

    Anybody having this problem too? Anyone know the solution?

    Faulty router? Connect Pipex?

    Thanks :lease:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    check the settings, might have a setting to disconnect after no use.
     
  3. drumstrum

    drumstrum
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you updated the software recently? If you haven't there may be a download for it; either way, you may need to hit the reset button on the back of it to reset it
     
  4. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +72
    I had major disconnection problems with my wireless network until i disabled the ms zero configuration service, and used the companies own configuration utility.

    Now the only problem i have with disconnections is when I'm using the microwave...
     
  5. clivejones

    clivejones
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    hornydragon - checked the settings - found a value called idle...which was set at 5mins...so i increased this to maximum value allowed 36747 :)
    And low and below this morning - when I switched on my laptop - the adsl connection was still alive :)
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    good good mate thought it might be that!
     
  7. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the same problem with a Belkin wireless router. It locks up after a few hours and needs resetting by powering off. Where is the idle setting?
     
  8. clivejones

    clivejones
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    its under the advanced tab.....down the left hand side

    good luck!
     
  9. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    for my Lynksys equivillant, I found on their FAQs that with XP you must de-select the 802.11 security settings in the connection properties to fix this problem.
     
  10. Lostinapc

    Lostinapc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have the belkin and my wireless disconnects all the time so i can't even log into the 192 job to reconnect.
    I'm going to phone and complain when i finish work this week.
    It might be a belkin thing.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have you updated firmware? connect with wire and run firmware uograde then change idle setting dont bother ringing them they are useless!
     
  12. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    Sorry to hear about people's problems, but my belkin has been flawless since the beginning. I never have to to restart it, or do anything with it - it just works. I used to have connection problems (with different hardware), and had abandoned wireless entirely in frustration, so I feel your pain.

    In my case, I am using a D-Link wireless adaptor card. I suspect that some wireless connection problems may be on the PC side rather than the router side. I have one PC which is always hard-wired to the router, and another that is wireless. Perhaps this makes a difference. I have also applied some updates to the router (but not recently).

    In my case, the PC's are only running for short periods of time. The laptop comes out of standby and connects to the belkin every time (automatically). I am running the software that came with my card, and also allowing windows to manage my connection (the "use windows to configure my wireless network" checkbox is checked). This is all under Windows XP (fully patched).

    My suspicion on the "daily" disconnect problem is that the ISP could be disconnecting you. However, this shouldn't prevent the Belkin from reconnecting you when you next use the internet. And this shouldn't affect your PC's connecting to each other (the local network), or them connecting to the belkin, which would all imply a different problem.
     
  13. Molly

    Molly
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I still have problems with my Belkin router and cannot find any settings to alter its performance.

    The router only crashes after so many hours when using emule or overnet. I also found this link with the same issue:

    http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/archive/index.php/t-1458.html

    Other friends using different routers have no problems with ntl.

    Any ideas
     
  14. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    It does sound like there's an issue with the Belkin. :(
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    TBH the belkin we have at work is (was very carp) only used as wired, and was the worlds worst bit of kit until we ran firmware update and reset idle time, but Belkin support were even less useful!!!!
     
  16. clivejones

    clivejones
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi guys

    since i posted the original message in this thread... and got the reply and amended the disconnected if idle to themax value allowed...
    my belkin has worked pretty much spot on...

    i'd rate it about 7 out of 109

    i had a netgear mr314 before this...
    it was actaully a better box (for cable)

    it logged websites and had basic content filtering...
     
  17. Anks

    Anks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've been using the Belkin router with 54g, having replaced a perfectly working ASUS router and seperate Access Point. Basically this router is very flacky and there are numerous reported problems. New firmware is available on the Belkin site but I am now using the the SMC firmware for the 7804WBRA and it seems much better and a couple more features. Still issues with DHCP address allocation but much improved reliability. The correct settings for dial on demand are ticked with idle time as 0 (alwys connected)

    SMC Firmware: http://www.smc-europe.com/english/s...oad/download/7804WBRA/SMC7804WBRA_FWv0.85.zip
     

Share This Page

Loading...