1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help me with connections someone please?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by sparkymarky, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    Could i connect my equip as follows to a panny 6??
    (And are there better ways!?)


    Sky rgb scart >>> DVD player scart connection

    DVD player Component out >>> Panny VGA


    Can i input the sky to the tosh 220 scart socket and make it come out of
    the component side??? I really havent got a clue?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    No mate
    Sky>scart board (SET to RGB in menu)
    TOSH DVD>component input
     
  3. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    but as i won't be getting any boards with the business panel i won't have a scart or component board.

    Can i not wire it as described???


    Don't really fancy buying extra boards thats all
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    no tosh wont convert rgb to yuv buy the panels they are less£100 each and your paying how many £1000's for the screen!
     
  5. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    yeah i realise the cost comparison but if i don't need to spend another £200 all the better i say.

    Plus the other main reason is i only want one cable going to the screen not lots as the it is an old cottage with very thick stone
    walls and its gonna be hassle hiding one cable let along a couple.

    anyone else know if this will work?
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    if your yam will switch YUV then get an RGB>YUV converter and do it that way. Or use RGB for both.
     
  7. sparkymarky

    sparkymarky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    cornwall
    Ratings:
    +32
    i think the manual says it will switch so what sort of cable do i use from and to the amp for skybox and dvd?

    sorry i'm a bit new to using component
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you need a converter like the ones JS technology do SKY>scart>conv>3 phono>yam
    yam>3 phono>screen
    DVD>3 phono>yam
     

Share This Page

Loading...