Help me Upgrade ancient computer

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by warhawk, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. warhawk

    warhawk
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have been out of the loop for quite a few years still running a quite old computer that does great most days still. Looking for some help and insight on upgrading it. Preferably all for a decent price/performance ratio. Here is what I got at the moment and looking to possibly upgrade the Motherboard, CPU, Ram, and Graphics card first. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

    Motherboard- ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard
    CPU- Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield Quad-Core 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W
    RAM-OCZ Gold 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
    Graphics- XFX HD-489A-ZDFC Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
    Harddrives-SAMSUNG EcoGreen F2 HD154UI 1.5TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5
    Power- Rosewill RBR1000-M - BRONZE Series - 1000-Watt Active PFC Power Supply
     
  2. WildeKarde

    WildeKarde
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,910
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +922
  3. warhawk

    warhawk
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I'll head my way over to that side then THANKS
     
  4. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,236
    I bet if you stick a decent card in there, you would still get some life out of it for a while yet. 970 or equivalent upwards.
     
  5. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    I'm running a [email protected] and r290. It's still a beast and works well.

    The summer will see her retirement with the release of Skylake however.
    Maybe wait until then?
    (going nvidia this time around).
     
  6. warhawk

    warhawk
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I am not in a hurry to replace it all just yet. It still runs pretty well most days. Slowly dying on me after 7 years of torture from me.
     
  7. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    I agree on the GPU replacement, I build my godson his first gaming PC using second hand parts and that had an X58 motherboard with an i7 950 and a HD 7950, it plays all the top titles very well albeit not on max settings but it has plenty of life in it for a 13 year old lad :)

    EDIT, this was built about 6 weeks ago.
     
  8. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Yeah also agree, unless really want to build new just stick a 970 in there and will be more than fine for a while and wait for the new cpu's or until have the proper urge for new build and move the gpu along into it. Have you overclocked the cpu? should be able to get near 4ghz with 5mins work.
     
  9. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,120
    Upgrade the graphics card and see if you can pick up some more RAM, 8 GB or 16GB will be nicer than 6GB for Windows 7+.

    Also get a SSD, it makes a massive difference.

    To be honest your CPU is not really worth upgrading at the moment, especially if you consider overclocking it, it will not really hold up the latest graphics cards, most games are still GPU bound.
     
  10. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    How would you go about using 8 or 16GB RAM in tri channel? ;)
     
  11. AlpsUk

    AlpsUk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wellingborough
    Ratings:
    +888
    I would upgrade the GPU and add an SSD to the current pc to give it a new lease of life. When you do build a new pc those parts can then be used in the new build.
     
  12. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,120
    12 GB then, if you want to maintain triple channel.

    Also you can run the memory as two sticks and the motherboard will default to dual channel. There are even benchmarks that show dual channel running faster than triple channel for some games. With the overall real world difference being practically 0.

    The Truth about i7 (1366) memory, both dual channel vs tri channel
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
  13. warhawk

    warhawk
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    SO what I will be doing to get the most out of what I have right now is upgrade a drive/add one in as a SSD, get some more RAM, and then a newish GPU thinking might go with a 960series to save some money for right now until I go all out on a new build.
     
  14. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3,094
    I wouldn't I would go for 970 and just transfer it into new build
     
  15. warhawk

    warhawk
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    are the 970s really that much better than a 960. From the ones ive looked at they are fairly comparable just the 960s are a bit cheaper now since they are a bit older.
     
  16. andiuk007

    andiuk007
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oldham
    Ratings:
    +4,868
    The 970 is around 60% give or take faster than the 960 bud, google it and you'll find many comparisons.
     

Share This Page

Loading...