Help me understand "Viewed"

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by gers1978, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. gers1978

    gers1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +173
    As far as I know, if your Sky+ is full, it will overwrite the oldest stuff that you've already viewed, unless you've marked it as keep.

    I've also noticed that a recording changes from Recorded to Viewed as SOON as you view it, even if you only view 1 second and exit out.

    So with regards to what I said in paragraph 1, does it only overwrite stuff that has been COMPLETELY viewed (i.e. all the way through), or does it overwrite ANYTHING that's marked as "Viewed" in the planner?

    Also does anyone know if you can manually toggle a recording between "viewed" and "recorded"?
     
  2. alternate

    alternate
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    viewed is viewed no matter how much you watched.

    No way that I know of switching it back.

    I turn all automatic options off though.
     
  3. gers1978

    gers1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +173
    It's a bit silly, seeing as they already have "Part Recorded", why can't they have "Part Viewed"?
     
  4. Andrew_arkless

    Andrew_arkless
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2001
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6

    Probably because virtually everything would be marked as part viewed unless you continue to watch any padding/adverts etc at the end of a recorded program.
     
  5. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anything that's 'viewed' that you want to make sure isn't overwritten can be 'kept' i.e. press the (iirc) blue button to set a Keep next to it.
     
  6. alternate

    alternate
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think "part viewed" would work. What if you jump to the end to make sure it all recorded and then go back to the start. It would just confuse people.
     

Share This Page

Loading...