1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me top configure my new system

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by conan, Oct 4, 2003.

1. conan

conan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    Hi all, I'm in the process of building and HTPC and would appreciate some recomendations on the spec of the rig. So far, I have a pretty Coolermaster desktop case with 2 front 5.25" drive bays waiting to be filled. Also have Asus A7N266 mobo XP2000+ CPU and Zalman 300W quiet PSU.

I want to use the rig as a full media centre, including watching movies, from DVD, VCD and Hdd, listen to MP3 collection and a radio tuner. I have NTL cable so don't need a digital receiver. Also I need to make it very user freindly as the missus isn't PC literate at all. So, the plan so far is,

Seagate cuda IV or V HDD (for silence)
    Pioneer DVD120S, Slot load DVD
    Matrix Orbital display
    M-Audio Revoloution 7.1 Sound Card
    Not sure on the Speakers, maybe Creative 6.1 or 7.1?
    Not sure on the Graphics, thought about a Radeon AIW?
    Would welcome any suggestions for the radio tuner.

Give me the benefit of your experience please
    ;)

2. conan

conan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +54
    Well, gotta say guys I'm disapointed by the overwhelming response:(

Anyway, got the speakers sorted, got a set of Videologic Digi Theatre 5.1's. I guess the next stage is the sound card, should I connect via the Co-ax?

3. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,955
    I'd reccommend the Radeon 9600 (non pro - it's fanless and quiet), not sure how good the AIW is though.

I'm using a Soundblaster 4.1 via spdif coax, and that works just fine via a 75ohm phono to phono cable. I was thinking of trying the Asus on-board 5.1 sound, so I've got the bits for that too.

Gary.

4. owenw

owenw