Help me solve my eletricity bills (s) what are Standard and Discounted prices...

figoagogo

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
I have been paying Atlantic Electricity on Direct Debit since Sep 2007.

We were paying a flat rate (perhaps too low) of £29.00/month. Now they say I owe £432.87 which they will claw back with an increased Direct Debit.

It seems fine to me, but want to check exactly what I am paying for and how much elec I am using. I always find these bills confusing.

I seem to paying two rates Standard Energy Units and Discounted Energy Units, not sure what they are, is it for use late in the night (economy 7 type thing) or something else - I should know - but I don't. :(

Normal rate is the first 100 kw[this is just an idea,it dipend of your company]and from there start your discont rate:thumbsup: so more you spend more discount have:D

Normal rate is the first 100 kw[this is just an idea,it dipend of your company]and from there start your discont rate:thumbsup: so more you spend more discount have:D

OK thanks - done some working out and it all looks OK - not sure why they have been "under-charging" my direct debits for so long.

These company's always seem to undercharge so it makes it more difficult to migrate to another provider because you would have to clear the bill first :mad:

Have they been estimating your usage or have you been having your meter read (or sending in your own readings)?
They usually re-assess your monthly direct debit each year based on the past years usage and taking into account any price rises.

If you want to check you usage then there a number of energy monitors on the market that will give you a live KWh reading. You can then go round your house turning things off and on to see where your electricity is being used.