Help me please, camcorder newbie!

dekoded

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All, although experienced in many areas of AV, I am still a complete novice when it comes to camcorders.

Basically, I got married a couple of weeks ago and a mate did some filming at our evening bash. He has now loaned the camcorder (sony dcr-trv245e) to me so I can capture footage onto my PC.

Although my laptop has a firewire connection I don't have a cable to link it to the camcorder, so I decided to use the USB STREAMING method using windows movie maker. I have now captured the footage at the highest quality that the software would allow but I'm not that impressed with the video quality, could this just be a limitation of the camcorder or have I reduced the capture quality by using USB rather than Firewire?

If anyone can tell me that the quality would be better using firewire then I will get myself a cable, I just didn't want to get one unless I had to as I will probably never need it again!

I would use the firewire connection always as the capture

gives more or less the same quality as the original tape .

As said USB is not designed/best for full res video capture , it's for stills transfer & webcam use. Firewire is the way to go, but you'll want to make sure that if you are using your laptop that your hard discs are big & fast for video capture.

As has already been advised, you do need to use firewire to capture video to a PC. It is the only way to get the footage onto the PC with 100% qua;ity of the origional recording. Be aware though that the quality on a monitor will look lower due to the fact that the monitor is not designed to display true colour interlaced video, but once copied to a DVD and played on a TV it should look excellent (subject to the quality of the origional recording).