1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me out lads

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by seany, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok lads,


    Right some of you know that me monitor is acting up (i swear it was after it tried to calibrate it) so i can't really tell how dark or light the pictures are. On my cam monitor they look ok but on the sony monitor they look very dark.. So can you tell me if this pic is very dark please or can you make it out ok?

    Ps

    It's just something i'm trying for the comp not my entry..
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    Hi Seany,

    It looks a little dark to me but has the makings of a great pic if you could lower Dianes head as it is blocking out a couple of letters.

    Adrenochrome.
     
  3. Pink Fairy

    Pink Fairy
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +11
    You should be able to find a calibration strip somewhere on the web, try the one here http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/viewing.html

    Andy
     
  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers lads i wanted to get the A&D on her face Tom it just the A lloks like M the D is on her cheek.. But it's too dark anyway by the looks of it.

    Pinky i used Adobe Gamma, since then the monitor has been playing up, but it could just be down to the monitor as i'm getting serious raster lines. I'm going to have to ring sony which i've not got round to yet

    Also if the picture's are dark after all then the screen on my d20 isn't reflecting how dark they actually...
     
  5. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Looks well dark to me too.
    NEVER trust how the picture looks on the cameras LCD.....check your Histogram.. :lesson:
     
  6. Pink Fairy

    Pink Fairy
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +11
    The Adobe Gamma loader can cause problems on some pc's/os...usually on boot-up when it kicks in... though it shouldn't be doing anything nasty to the display.
    good luck... I know it can be headache when you doubt how your photos look to others.

    Andy
     
  7. paulc1

    paulc1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    I can make it out ok, although it is dark, ...I think it kinda adds to the picture.
     
  8. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Just checked exif data for that pic mate............

    Your historam is ALL over to the left.......mega too dark exposure

    http://www.sphoto.com/techinfo/histograms/histograms4.htm

    File Name
    20D 1582.jpg
    Camera Model Name
    Canon EOS 20D
    Shooting Date/Time
    16/01/2005 22:09:57
    Tv( Shutter Speed )
    1/5
    Av( Aperture Value )
    3.5
    Exposure Compensation
    0
    ISO Speed
    800
    Image Size
    800x533
    Flash
    Off
    File Size
    98KB
    Owner's Name: seany
     
  9. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I like it dark, i just wasn't sure how dark it really was. I checked the exif out' i've got some at 1/2 of a sec that are better but not as good as that one (as a setup)
     
  10. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Most of the sensors bits are swallowed by the top two f-stops so even with that sort of shot i'd tried to push the histogram to the right then darken as required in post-processing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...