• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Help me make a decision

djmcgrathav

Standard Member
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to Blu-Ray, and have only just started to look around for a player.

I've got the 32inch Toshiba 32D3030D, after a review from What HIFI some time ago, and been reasonably happy with it. My small gripes tend to be about the quality of Virgin+ on 1080p but I guess that's not the TV's fault.

I have an extensive collection of DVDs so bought a DVD upscaler but I'm thinking of getting a BluRay player over the next few weeks.

I want a player that is less than £300, and would make my existing DVDs look as good as possible. I'll start buying BluRay DVDs from now on so I will be building up a separate collection of those discs, but will probably be watching films from both "collections" equally, as I have a lot of my favourite films on normal DVDs.

Based on reading What HIFI and these forums, I seem to have 2 choices:

Panasonic DMP-BD35 or the Sony BD350.

I have a few questions about them, which other threads started to answer but then descended into tangents:

1. Which is the better upscaler?
2. The Sony player is on Amazon with 2 free films for 189, and the Panasonic 35 doesn't seem to be on Amazon at all. Does anyone know when this will be available? I suspect the price will be around the 250 mark - is the extra £70 worth it?
3. Amazon do have the Panasonic 30 - is this a worthwhile machine to consider alongside the Sony and the 35, or shall I forget it in favour of the 35?
4. Audio isn't a great concern to me, as I don't have any separate audio equipment coming out of the TV so the differences in audio quality isn't a massive deciding factor.