1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help me introduce an AV ?????

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jcilia, Mar 23, 2005.

1. jcilia

jcilia
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right this might be a tricky question to answer but being a newbie I am rather lost. So I currently have a Panay with Dolby prologic and I want to add an AV I am looking at Denon 2105 or Marantz 4400 more inclined for the Denon due to auto set-up. However I want to use the Panny front and rear speakers which are 8 Ohms 15W each and if possible the TV central speakers, plus I have an Aiwa 60w Active subwoofer. I will be connecting a Humax Sat box, Cheap Samsung DVD and Cable tv reception via TV. I would really appreciate some advice as you can see from above I am lost :)

2. Jack the lad

Jack the lad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi :hiya: And welcome to the forums.

1. Dont use a TV as a center speaker, it will be crap and not tonally matched to your Fronts.

2. I have a Denon 3805 amp and think its the dogs testicles. So going by that the 2105 should be OK.

3. If you live near Mansfield I have a full 5.1 set-up sitting in a cellar doing nowt. Good starter system. Make me an offer :)

3. bob1

bob1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +129
    I would replace all the speakers or it won't be worth buying the amp.

4. jcilia

jcilia
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info guys, I was sort of worried that this would be a typical reply i.e. scrap the speakers. re offer would be a waste to ship to Malta :) is there a chance of blowing the speakers or is it because of quality ?

Joe

5. Astaroth

Astaroth

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +114