Help me help my neigbours

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by VKL, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. VKL

    VKL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello everyone,

    Here's the problem: My neighbours have got sky (not sky +). They keep getting various channels breaking up and freezing. I have changed the lnb on their dish for them and this makes no difference. They have a Panasonic skybox about 4 years old.

    Looking at the direction that their dish points, it appears to point directly into a tree about 30 yards away. Could this affect the signal? Incedentally the signal strength and quality are at about 75 percent.

    Alternatively, is it worth looking into changing the coax? The only problem with this being a lot of the length has been buried under ground.

    Thanks in anticipation
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    It could be the tree. It would need to be quite a tall one though, if it's 30 yards away.
     
  3. VKL

    VKL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for your reply. The tree is definately in the line of the satellite. Apparently it's has the same effect in the winter as well even though the tree has no leaves then. Our dishes do seem to aim low in the sky. Down on the SE coast.
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well they shouldn't :confused:

    For each 100 miles south that you travel, you have to increase the elevation by 1 degree, so yours should be the highest pointing dishes in the UK down there, not lower :) The actual elevation of the Sky (Astra) satellite on the south coast should be around 27 degrees.
     
  5. VKL

    VKL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure that the dish is aligned properly, it's just that i'd expected it to point higher in the sky. I'm gonna move the dish to a higher elevation and away from the tree. If that doesn't work, I don't know what to try next!
     
  6. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +715
    Sky dishes are offset types , not prime focus ; only a prime focus dish actually physically appears to point at the satellite at which it is aimed.
    If a dish is meant to point at a satellite at 26 degrees elevation but the dish is an offset type with an offset of 20 degrees, to the eye it will appear to be only pointing at angle of 6 degrees upwards.
    You can install a free program from here :
    http://www.smw.se/FreeSoftware.htm

    Then use the Antenna Alignment button to bring up a utility that requires you lat/longitude and required satellite in order to calulate actual elevation needed.
    A protractor and pipe can then be used to see if you are clearing any trees or other obstacles at the necessary angle - as long as your eyes are at dish level.
    I have two 35 cms offset dishes that IO have set up for terrestrial links (10 GHz amateur TV). These physically point downwards in order to do this.
    (Thus occasionally a technically interested passer by asks why my dishes are apparently beaming into Australia).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester (UK).
     
  7. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309
  8. VKL

    VKL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Sam,

    Thanks for your reply. I think that the cable is in a conduit in the soil. Would that make a difference?
     
  9. Achy

    Achy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I had a panasonic box that kept breaking up but only on some channels.
    eXtreme sports being one, music channels as well.

    Check to see what the picture output is set to in the Sky Setup page, is it RGB or PAL?

    There's a problem with some Panasonic digiboxes ( TU-DSB31 ) something to do with the tuner.

    Change it to PAL and although the picture quality wont be as good, it wont break up at all. Now I know you're rubbing your chin and saying "Yeah, I'm sure that'll work :rolleyes: " but it cured it for me !

    Let us know how you get on.
     
  10. VKL

    VKL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Pakehurst, I will try that and let you know.
     
  11. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    I think it is just a Sky think....
    Some box's do and some box's dont.
    Get them to ring Sky and tell them there is a prob with there box.
    Sky will charge £50 to come out and will find the prob, if it is the box they will replace it.
    I got Sky+ and evern that breaks up on C4 for me....
    It started doing it after the last firmware/software upgrade sky done via the dish.
     
  12. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309

Share This Page

Loading...