1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me get a freeview picture :(

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Unlight, Oct 29, 2004.

  1. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi there,

    I just bought a BT branded Netgem I player. Everything is fine with my box and reception (it works fine downstairs), only it all becomes a bit nasty when I try to connect it to the plasma in my room.

    I have an connection coming in from the outdoors aeriel, but it seems that over the years the little pin at the end of the connection (the little copper one inside the metal ends that you plug into the freeview set or TV) has seen better days - and its not giving me a great quality connection - it wont show me ITV etc without it being incredibly blocky.

    How do I replace this end? Do I have to strip the wire back or something?

    Any help would be much appreciated as its driving me mad!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    do you have wall plate or direct cable from aerial... If latter how much slack?
     
  3. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi there,

    I think its a direct cable from the aerial, as I can see it going outside all the way up to the roof.

    By slack do you mean how long is the added cable? Maybe about 2.5 when its in the room, probably not much more than what it takes to go to the downstairs entry point for it..

    Any ideas? :(
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Great stuff will try that asap :)
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    has it worked?
     
  7. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi there, I have more problems now !

    Basically, I can get a picture when I plug the aerial connection straight into the back of the freeview box. However, I need a bit of an extension in order to place the box under my TV, when using the supplied 1m one, it messes up the picture on ITV...

    Any ideas??
     
  8. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Anyone have any advice? Would a signal booster help?
     

Share This Page

Loading...