Question Help me decide on receiver

yakshemash

Standard Member
Hi, planning to buy new speakers (oberon 7) but not sure which av receiver to pair them with. Im new to this. Music is more important to me than video, in case I have to pick one.

My usage : 50% music, 35% movies/series, 15% gaming.
Sources: PC, PS4. Also have some vinyl and some cds.
Room setup: 25m², square shape. 5.1 is good enough for me.
Current system: Logitech z906 for 5.1 (pc connected), and a separate old crappy stereo/tuner system.
I listen to different genres if that matters.
Budget for AVR: I was thinking 600/700€? can be stretched if needed.

Narrowed down to x2700h, SR5014 or RXV6A. Those are around 600-700€, and cover my needs.
Is this (price range) good enough? Or do I need to step it up?

What do you think? Thx!

Last edited:

Russ_64

Jamie

Distinguished Member
Would 2.0 or 2.1 perhaps be a better choice? If music is the main priority then a proper stereo amp is invariably better.

You mention Oberon 7 which are the flooratanders, does that mean you only have the main speakers so far?

yakshemash

Standard Member
Would 2.0 or 2.1 perhaps be a better choice? If music is the main priority then a proper stereo amp is invariably better.

You mention Oberon 7 which are the flooratanders, does that mean you only have the main speakers so far?

I was planning to either start with just the floorstanders or buy the full 5.1 oberon set. Im used to 5.1, so im not sure 2.1 will be enough for me.

gibbsy

The Marantz will certainly be better for music than the Denon, almost certainly the Yamaha would be as well. The Marantz also has a full set of pre-outs and the Yamaha front pre-outs. With a 50% music usage I would not entertain an AV amp for the job, a comparable stereo amp is simply so much better. At least with both the Marantz and the Yamaha you could add a stereo amp with HT by-pass into the system for your music sources in the future.

yakshemash

Standard Member