• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Help me choose- Tidal/Qobuz/Spotify

PNB

Established Member
Hi all,

Thanks so far for the input in other thread surrounding equipment.

I've been using Play Music from Google for many years and its now being discontinued- I've been moved over to YouTube music and from what my ears can tell the bit rate seems aweful. I really don't like the interface either.

I've signed up for free trials on Tidal/Qobuz and Spotify and I'm really struggling to choose which to stay with.

I listen on my phone when running and the quality of that is non important as I use bone conducting earphones.

On out car we have a kenwood unit with android auto (ive not tried them with this but Play used to be seemless and work voice activated).

On our stereos in the house we use Chromecast- from what I can tell Tidal and Qobuz sound better than Spotify on these (Ive heard that Spotify bitrate is downgraded through chromecast).

I'll only be using Tidal HIFI as the Masters subscription is TOO much. I might stretch to Qobuzs £15 subscription though.

I'm currently pretty busy with life- 2 kids, a building project and the wife starting a new job thats long hours- so I'm finding it hard to extensively test these subscriptions.

What have you chosen/what would you choose with my kit and why?

There's choice here and would really appreciate some input on why people would choose the different services as opposed to a thread of people trying to convince people their choice is better.

Many thanks in advance for any useful insight.

Paul

mseve1

Established Member