Help me choose the 5.2.4 speakers for my dedicated home theater

voidpointer

Novice Member
I have a dedicated 17'x17' and 10' high media room I'm setting up a home theater in. I've already decided on the video equipment (projector and screen) and am working on speaker setup. I am really new to this and I do not know a lot about speakers. I haven't heard any of the brands I'm going to purchase. I'm really relying mostly on the knowledge of folks here and of people I read reviews of to buy the right thing. I'm not really worried about if I'm going to like it or not, especially with my budget, but I do want the "best" of the choices.

I've been getting quotes from various companies (Magnolia Best Buy, Dreamedia, etc) and I'd like to post some of the speakers that were selected for me here. I'm hoping someone can help me decide on the right brands and speaker models for my room. I can post pictures of the room if needed. Note that I do plan to get some acoustic panels and bass traps, because I hear square rooms suck for audio, so expect that will be done after I choose the right speakers.

Total home theater budget is $17k-20k. So far about 12k of that is quoted for non-audio stuff. So I imagine I'm hovering around 8-10k for speakers based on the quotes given here, which is a LOT, and does put me over budget, but for some reason these reps like to give me expensive speakers instead of trying to compromise on my budget... for example the final quote with the Martin Logan speakers is $25k :-( I could do this if I really needed to but, I feel like I need to bring it down more.

The choices boil down to surrounds and atmos speakers (all in-wall, which is what I want). In all configurations, I'm getting 2x SVS PB-2000 Pro subs (I personally chose these) and AVR chosen for me is Denon AVR-X4700H. I've been less focused on the AVR, it seems like a good one to me, but open to suggestions.

Choice 1:
  • 5x Martin Logan - Motion XTW6