Help me choose a good set of speakers...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by buddy13, Dec 31, 2011.

1. buddy13

buddy13
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I am a newbie here so please

I am a 27 year old Engineer from Malta (yes that small island somewhere in the EU :laugh:...) and have been a fan of AV systems from when I was small. I have never owned a decent setup yet cos my watch collecting hobby drains all the funds normally :mad:...

My 'best' setup so far has been a 5.1 Panasonic home cinema which of course for you guys here it leaves a lot to be desired, especially in music mode :thumbsdow...I have decided I need a decent system for a budget of 1500 Euros max (slightly less is better).

I am very impulsive normally but really want to get this one right. So these last 3 weeks I have been getting in all the prices, info, specs and reviews I could get hold of and have narrowed my choice to the below:

A/V receiver:

- Onkyo TXNR509
    - Yamaha RXV671
    - Onkyo TXNR609

I will be hooking it up to a set of speakers from the below list (I have still to decide :confused:). My room measures approx. 4m by 3m and space is somewhat limited (so no overly large speakers). I will use it 70% movies and 30% music (easy rock, jazz, generic). I don't want anything crazy in terms of sound output, I just want an honest reproduction that is clear with minimal distortion at medium output levels.

5 Channel Speaker systems:

- Wharfedale diamond - 10.6x2 (floorstands), 10.1x2 (rear), 10CSV
    - Jamo S608 HCS3 system
    - Q Acoustics 2000I
    - Tannoy Mercury V4 AV

I have audtioned the Jamo & Wharfedale speakers with the Yamaha & Onkyo 509 receivers respectively. ALL are a BIG step up from my current setup. I like 'natural' sounding systems best and cooler in favour of warmer (bass over mid and treble, must say the Wharfys 10.6 were the warmest from my auditions)...