1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Me Choose a DIY DLP projector screen

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by loco13, Sep 8, 2005.

1. loco13

loco13

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm new to all this projection screen subject. I have a 1700L 2000:1 DLP projector and I would like to make my own screen.

What do you think of MDF and also, I live in Australia so does anyone know the icestorm equivalent here? If not, could someone please post a shade of icestorm 5 and 6 to this thread so that I can get it color matched.

what color screen is best for a DLP projector?

Does MDF warp after being painted and should I put a primer on the MDF before the final coats?

Please Help...
    Thank you.

2. mgzr1400

mgzr1400
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have just used ice storm 6 on my wall but i just went into the nearest building supplies that mix colours and asked for ice storm 6 and they tapped it into the computer and mixed it for me. As for the mdf, it shouldnt warp as long as it is kept flat before fixing and i wouldnt advise anything below 1/2 inch thick. I would go for 3/4 inch mdf if you can get a good fixing. Let us know how you go on with it and I am really pleased with the colour on my wall and the picture is great too.

3. IronGiant

IronGiant

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29,696
  4. loco13

loco13

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everyone,

Thank you for your kind advice, and for the link. It was very helpful. Ill post pictures as soon as I finish with the wall.

Loco..

5. davee

davee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    Paint both sides of the mdf to stop it warping ;)

6. 0B1-1

0B1-1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0