1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help ive lost optical output on my compacks DVD! !!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by newstuart, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +58
    I have a COMPACKS DVD5000 player which I unpluged my optical digital lead from to use with my playstation. Ive just reconected it but the DVD seems t give no output through it now ?? Ive checked in the menu and its still set to output so im somewhat stumped. any suggestions
     
  2. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +58
    ANYONE ???? Really dont want to have to buy a new player
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    If that's really all you did, ie. unplug and then re-plug, the only this that occurs to me would seem to be a faulty connector. Are you seeing a red light coming from it? When it should be outputting an audio stream?
     
  4. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +58
    Yep thats all I did, The red light still comes out of it to which is the strabge part. Ive since bought a new lead and tried that with no joy either
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Very weird, 'fraid I know nothing of your player so can't make any suggestions. :(
     
  6. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +58
    thanks for the input guys,

    Ive just tried it with the coax output rather than the optical and it works! how odd but at least its working so ill just run it from that instead
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Coax is often preferred over optical as long as you have decent quality cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...