1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help, it's too loud!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Madders, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hi guys, I hope you can help me on this. I have hooked up my HTPC to my Bryston 9B to try to use the HTPC as the processor/ pre amp, however the sound I get is way too loud. Even with the volume down to the minimum, it is still really too loud on dvd playback and cd playback via winamp. I have tried both my rme digi 96/8 PSD soundcard and my Revo 7.1 and both have the same problem (although the rme can get down to acceptable volumes when playing cd's via winamp.)

    I have also tried all the volume settings in both rme and revo preference windows. I hope someone can help with this before my neighbours throw a brick through my window!

    Thanks,

    Steve
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about Windows volume? (double click on the speaker icon in the taskbar)

    Try reducing CD Digital, Wave, Synth & Master.
     
  3. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Thanks for the reply Nathan. With the RME soundcard, the windows volume control is disabled. With the Revo, it has no effect.

    Steve
     
  4. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you try changing the position or balanced/unbalanced switch at the back of 9B-ST?

    Try setting it on balanced.
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I have a similar 'problem' with my Hercules Game Theater XP 7.1, in that it feeds my Arcam P75 power amp and unless the volume levels are set very low it is extremely loud. Bit annoying, but I'll be feeding it into my Denon AVR2800 sometime soon and that will give me the extra volume control.
     
  6. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hi Branxx, yep I have tried the balanced/unbalanced switch on the back (with my RME card and 4/O add on the main 2 channels are unbalanced connected with RCA's and the other 3 are balanced with TRS cables.

    With the Revo I connected with RCA's and tried all switch positions.

    Steve
     
  7. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    sO, DOES BALANCED/UNBALANCED SWITCH HAVE ANY IMPACT?
     
  8. donkey

    donkey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont know if you have one on your sound card but ive had a soundcard with a jumper onboard to switch between speaker out and audio out (non amplified)

    also ive had a soundcard with seperate outputs (both amplified and non-amplified)
     
  9. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    RME has a jumper of that nature but it works on input channels only.
     
  10. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Sorry Branxx, I meant to say I tried it and it had no effect! :(

    Steve
     
  11. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am a bit lost here. My RME has the same volume level as other sources I use. Did you try talking to RME support?
     
  12. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Branxx,

    RME support was going to be my next port of call. When I had either card running through my Denon amp they were fine, it is just when I hook up the Bryston amp direct to the computer that I have the problems :rolleyes:

    Steve
     
  13. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have suitable cable, try connecting unbalanced out of RME to balanced input of Bryston and set switch to balanced.

    This may work.
     
  14. sapgem

    sapgem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ReTrO you've got me worried.. was just about to change my setup to a Revo as pre-amp with a Arcam P75 power amp.

    One possible solution might be getting the software player to reduce the volume. Not sure about Winamp but Foobar2000 has a preamp DSP component that allows you to knock 20db off the sound (if memory serves me correctly).

    Alternatively I guess a passive pre-amp might be what is needed (Creek do a top notch remote controlled one for £200, but there must be some cheap ones out there ???).

    BTW does anyone know how a card like the Revo adjusts its volume? Do we lose sound quality if the setting isn't at its highest?
     
  15. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    sapgem: the P75 if fine provided that you don't go over about 25% volume with the various volume controls. I have been using it in a very small room, with speakers approx 1.5m away from listening position. It should be fine in a normal size HC room (ie anything bigger than mine! :rotfl:
     
  16. sapgem

    sapgem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats good to know ReTrO!

    Another partial solution might be the in-line attenuators sold by Rothwell (£40). The seem to go on the end of phono plugs and cut 10db from the sound and increase the signal to noise ratio apparently (haven't tried them but definetly thinking of these for my setup)
     
  17. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Branxx, I tried all the settings on the amp last night. If I used a balanced cable and set it to unbalanced (and vice versa, if I set it to balanced and used an RCA connection) There was no sound other than the front left and right speakers. The only channels that work correctly on the RME card are the unbalanced front left and right channels (the 2 channels from the main board). The AEB 4/O doesn't have any volume level change. The Revo also has no volume change.

    Has anyone else any ideas?

    Steve
     
  18. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK this makes more sense. Main L+R works correctly as you can adjust the volume with the sliders in the sound card's control panel. Other channel are too loud as they operate at full volume, without a means to adjust it.

    I think this is how it works by design (at least RME). Revo card shoul have a separate all channel volume slider in bass management section of the driver control panel.

    RME cards are meant be feed into mixing console where volume can be adjusted individually.

    Go to AVSForum.com and search for Bill Gaw2 post regarding M-Audio Delta1010 as there is the same problem on that card as well.

    One of my system uses M-Audio Delta 410 in multi-channel mode and I know for certain that all-channel volume control is available on that one.

    I just received RME HDSP 9632 and the driver now includes a mixing console, that may suggest volume control for each channel. Haven't tried it yet.
     
  19. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Branxx,

    I shall check out Bill Gaw's post, thanks for that. The Revo doesn't reduce in volume even when the volume sliders are all at their minimum settings.:(

    Steve
     
  20. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is a single volume slider for all channels.
     
  21. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Yes, I know, but it doesn't have any effect.

    I then tried the individual channel volume controls, but again, they had no effect.

    Steve
     
  22. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is a radio button in that area the switches the feature on/off. Checked?
     
  23. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    I'm not too sure what you mean by radio button Branxx, do you mean the one marked monitor?

    Steve
     
  24. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Well, after spending 3 hours this evening, messing around with different cables/ combinations of cables and different versions of the driver, I have finally got my Revo's volume control to work!! :clap:

    Just watched Star Wars Episode II with just my HTPC hooked up to my Bryston 9B ST....it sounds truly awesome!!!

    It was your surprise that it wasn't working Branxx that made me persevere in getting it working! So thanks for your responses to my post!

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  25. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    810
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Madders,

    This almost deserves another thread to describe your impressions after switching to HTPC. Alternatively you can post something here.

    Well done.
     

Share This Page

Loading...