Help, iPhone has used all my credit

Lord Choc Ice

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to the iPhone and just bought an iPhone 4S and used my old PAYG sim card in it. It was working fine until today when I noticed that I had no credit left and I haven't even used it, there should have been at least £9 on it. I'm on ios version 9.3.2. Can someone shed any light on this? the only thing I have changed today is to set up my email account on the phone.

Turn off mobile data thats whats used up the credit.
Only use wifi for data.

Thanks jerryq, I have done that now. Need to top it up again and see what happens. Good job I wasn't on a tariff otherwise it could have been very expensive :(.

Yeah that will be updates or something although normally it requires the users input to download or update apps.

That would be me then :D. As I say this is my first iPhone and I previously had an iTouch 2nd generation so there were many updates to my apps when I connected the phone to iTunes although I didn't install them all on my phone. Any idea what 'carrier settings' are? Just got an update and not sure if I should download them or not.

Its just a small update to the Network settings ok to download but stay on WIFI so you dont get charged.

i thought system updates and app updates were wifi only downloads?
you can check how much data an app has used here: settings -> mobile data -> use mobile data for. you can also turn off apps you don't want to use your data allowance. games are a good example - they often only go online to serve you ads
i also use an app called 'data usage' which logs data use, but since moving off an unlimited tariff (i.e. where I didn't know my official data usage from the network's perspective), i've found it to be wildly inaccurate compared to the network's official version

i thought system updates and app updates were wifi only downloads?