1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - In trouble with wife over HS1

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by void, Feb 20, 2002.

1. void

void

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I really need your help here. I am completely new to this and it is my first post. Basically, I took a salespersons advice and put a deposit on a VPL-HS1 after convincing the wife we really needed it. Then I decided to find something out about projectors, and now I am wondering if I have made the right choice (Wrong order?). I have learnt a lot from you guys already, but not enough to make a clear choice.
    I intended mounting the HS1 on a shelf near the top of the rear wall. I now believe this will be a problem as the keystone correction only works for below screen height? I am also wondering wether a couple of hundred extra pounds would be money well spent. A Philips UGO Xlite is within range and its XGA, or a Philips Monroe has been suggested to me. Would I be better going for these, or can you suggest another good option for £2000 (gbp) or less?

Thanks,

2. Chris Frost

Chris Frost

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +107
    The Sony is designed for table top use. Mounting it on a high shelf will probably mean you use all of the electronic keystone correction and still don't produce a square picture :eek:

You mention a couple of Philips projectors. The X-Lite has been popular because of its small size and range of features including keystone correction. A new version is due in early March:- X-Lite Impact, which is 25% brighter and has a zoom lens rather than a fixed lens, so it may be possible to pick up an X-Lite at a good price.