Help in Selecting Audio Equipment for TV

mpeill

Novice Member
Reaction score
I've no experience in these matters, and am looking for recommendations on enhancing the audio from our TV. My hearing is slowly deteriorating and I have difficulty hearing the dialogue particularly in films and series from the USA. I'm told that this is an issue with many people these days with 5.1 Surround Sound being mixed down to Stereo, and what is needed is to increase the output from the 5.1 centre channel where the dialogue is mostly present.
I thought I'd found the ideal solution with a Vizio 5.1 Soundbar plus satelite speakers, but they unfortunately don't have a UK outlet.
So, can anyone recommend a soundbar or audio system that would fit my needs. I'm on a budget so it would have to be towards the cheaper end of the scale.
The audio source would come from the output from a Sky+HD box.

I'd doubt that a 5.1 setup would result in the improvements that have been suggested to you? There's actually no credability to the reasons you've be given for the deteriation of the dialogue and the audio being mixed down would have no detrimental effect upon the dialogue level. Many people who have a 5.1 setup report issues with dialogue being hard to distinguish even if using a centre speaker and you only really avoid this by increasing the volume to the reference level the audio was mixed with. This level is very loud and louder than you'd probably want to be viewing TV using? It would definately be loud enough to have your neighbours complaining if you have any?

Some if not all AV receivers have some form of night mode and or dynamic range compression that can help quieter sound be heard over louder aspects of the audio. This type of processing may help you in regards to the issue you are having with the dialogue? After saying this I cannot guarantee such a mode would benefit you personally in relation to your hearing issues?