Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

help! how to connect my dell laptop to viera??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by lee-s, Dec 5, 2004.

1. lee-s

lee-s

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok ive got the laptop hooked up to the viera using the pc interface on the tvs front panel, but being a complete novice with both pcs and plasmas i dont seem to be able to get it working??

what am i doing wrong??

obviously something needs to be turned on in the settings but i dont seem to be able to find what! lol

anybody know??

:lease:

2. alan8477

alan8477

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Try pressing FN (function key) and F8 together on the Dell. This will activate the Dell's VGA output. Make sure you have selected AV3 on the Viera.

3. lee-s

lee-s

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm got av3 up on the viera and on this lapyop it looks like either the f3 or f4 keys do something with the screen settings the f8 key has no icon on it??

fn + f3 seem to have no effect while fn + f4 just make the laptop screen go black

now im stumped

4. harrison99

harrison99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Dell laptop and it works fine on my Viera - press Fn + F5 simultaneously. You may need to change your laptop screen resolution first - 800*600 was OK. Make sure you are on AV3 on the TV. Oh, and plug-in your laptop.

5. alan8477

alan8477

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    OK, what Dell laptop is it and what operating system are you running? C6xx, D6xx, Latitude, inspiron, XP Home/Professional, W2000, W98 etc etc?

6. Repo

Repo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21