1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help. HDMI Ports on TV don't work anymore

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by blue00ws6, May 21, 2011.

  1. blue00ws6

    blue00ws6 Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    User Reviews:
    0
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A storm was blowing through and I was watching a dvd. Lightning struck and I heard a loud pop and everything shut off. It even popped a breaker in the garage. Upon turning everything back on the receiver, blu-ray player, and the cable box will not turn on. The TV will turn on but makes a loud popping sound before it does and the HDMI ports do not work as the cable box and the blu-ray were connected via hdmi. I grabbed another blu-ray player from upstairs and tried hooking it up. The tv will see the that something is plugged into the hdmi port but shows no picture or sound. If I plug it up using cables you get picture and sound. Any suggestions? TIA
     
  2. STdrez625

    STdrez625 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,100
    User Reviews:
    0
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +79
    Listen to the rad-e-oh?
     
  3. Broadz

    Broadz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,692
    User Reviews:
    0
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    What does this have to do with satellite TV?
     
  4. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    17,293
    User Reviews:
    0
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +4,812
    So three out of four items are blown out completely.
    The TV is blown as well since it was connected to the others, the HDMI receiver in the TV is blown and needs replaced.
    I suggest when you replace everything you put some surge protection.
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    50,039
    User Reviews:
    0
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,939
    Welcome to AVF, and like post #3 asks.
    Transferred to TVs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...