Help getting 360 online!

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by airmax95, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. airmax95

    airmax95
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello i got my 360 today and already have trouble getting it online..

    when i click on sign up to xbox live, it straight away says it cant connect, so i go on test connection, then it fails when it comes to MTU, i dont kno what this is but if its anything to do with my connection speed i have a 2mb connection.

    thanks for any help guys
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    More information about how it is connected to your broadband might help. The more information about your whole setup the better.
     
  3. airmax95

    airmax95
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    basically theres a little white box behind my pc with a white lead going from it to the pc, the ethenet cable fits in fine from the xbox to the white box so i dont kno wots going on?
     
  4. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Sorry but that still doesn't really explain things. The information needs to be more specific.

    Is your broadband cable or ADSL
    Are you using a modem or a router
    Is you PC connected via USB or ethernet
    Is your Xbox connection independent of your PC connection

    Like I said the more information and the more detailed it is the better regarding your setup.
     
  5. airmax95

    airmax95
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont really know names of things but il explain the best i can...

    our broadband runs through our NTL box downstairs, basically if i go downstairs and tourn the power off i wont have any internet up here, the same white box i have in my room is what the ethenet cable goes into downstairs, and that is what gives me my broadband upstairs

    at the moment im simply pluging the xbox ethenet cable straight into the back of my white box upstairs
     
  6. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    I'm sorry that is still vague for me especially as I'm not that knowledgeable on cable internet connections as I've always used ADSL. Hopefully some who is will read this thread and be of more help.
     
  7. webbo254

    webbo254
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi there on the Microsoft help & support website it says the MTU fails if the router is incompatible, it says MTU is a setting on the router/ gateway that can affect network performance. It says Xbox Live requires a minimum MTU of 1364:

    Follow Me...
     
  8. dan1979

    dan1979
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +218
    Is anything else connected to the white box upstairs? Have you verified it works by using anything else?
     
  9. kopchoir

    kopchoir
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    25,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Anfield Theatre of Reality
    Ratings:
    +5,455
  10. hatton920

    hatton920
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I thought ntl modems were black?
     

Share This Page

Loading...