1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP for novice please.

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by keith stocker, May 6, 2004.

1. keith stocker

keith stocker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I'm a novice in the camcorder world and would really like some advice please.

I'm off to the USA soon and I'm keen to pick up a camcorder. I've done some research and have an idea of what I should look at getting, but any suggestions and comments welcome.

I want something small and easy to use, but would like some quality, so considering Mini DV, however I would also like possibly to have 'still' camera facility, so looking at something that has SD storage. I want to do PC editing, so I'll need DV in/out, is that right?
    I'm into extreme sports, so would like a camera that I could attach a 'head camera' extension to, so I can film as I jump off cliffs, etc.

What makes and models should I be looking at?
    What problems should I expect?
    Is there a problem with TV compatability if I buy in the states?

Thanks in anticipation of your help.

Keith

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Hi Keith and welcome.

Buying from the USA has been asked on several occasions before, so do a search to find many of the pros & cons. Here are a few that I can remember off the top of my head:

When you bring it back to UK you could get charged import duty & VAT. This will wipe out most or all of your savings.
    The cam will be NTSC and in UK we use PAL. Mant TV's will be able to play NTSC recordings from the cam, but you will not be able to record to a standard VCR.
    Any DVD's etc that you create from edits done on the PC will still be NTSC unless you have expensive conversion software.
    If something goes wrong with it you are unlikely to get it repaired in the UK for free.