1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for Newbie - please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Bridger, Sep 21, 2004.

1. Bridger

Bridger
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am a very much a Newbie and this is my first post, so please be gentle.

Current equipment - 28inch 4:3 Panasonic TV, Sky box (to be replaced by Sky+), Humax digital sat, VHS video. Also, but not linked, Cyrus amp, Cyrus tuner, Marantz CD player, Rogers LS7 speakers.

I am NOT a film buff (no DVD). My primary reason for looking to dip my toe into the AV world is that I frequently have difficulty in "discriminating" dialogue from background effects when watching drama etc. I frequently resort to teletext subtitles when watching drama to ensure I can follow the plot. American sourced material seems particularly bad.

Could you please advise on a suitable amp and speaker selection for ultra clear dialogue on a £600 budget. I do not require a tuner or gadgets like DSP. I have no objection in principle to buying second hand, but doubt that I have the experience to make appropriate selections.

Thanks for any assistance.

2. Kazman

Kazman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +136
    Marantz amps tend to be very good with dialogue, especially the SR7400, which can be had for less than £500.

You could look at a Marantz SR5400 or the new SR5500 which should be out soon.

As for speakers to go with the amp, and the prime concern is dialogue, I would say a Mordaunt Short MS905A would be perfect, and a good match for the Marantz amp. You could use your current speakers through the Marantz AV amp by using the Marantz's preouts feeding into your Cyrus amp.

If movies are not as important, I believe a sub woofer for .1 can be negated?

My choice:

Marantz SR7400 (£480 from unbeatable)
    Mordaunt Short MS905A (£119 from AVLand)