1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for HTPC as Cable pvr,jukebox, dvd player

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by reddom, Jun 11, 2003.

1. reddom

reddom

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm new to all this HTPC stuff, but it seems like this is the place to come.
    My Video has recently broken, and i was looking around at the options for pvr's and dvd recorders but couldn't find anything that did all I wanted, till i stumbled upon this htpc idea. Replacing my vcr has given me the perfect opportunity, to introduce an HTPC into my living room, without overly upsetting the missus (Its a vcr, honestly!).

I have an extremly modest setup at the moment, no projectors or plasma screens etc so dscaler stuff is not of interest to me.

I Have
    28" Widescreen Philips TV (2xScart (1 is RGB),S Video,Composite
    NTL Cable Box (The one that has non standard IR control) with scart RGB to TV (Composite to the VCR)
    Xbox
    Denon Stereo (stereo Anologue inputs only)
    PC Upstairs, Wireless Network, broadband etc.

In order to gain permission from the Authorities;) my htpc needs to do the following three things.

1)Be quiet
    2)Look Nice
    3)Do what the video did
    i.e., record whatever is coming out the cable box, use a timer, play back later to TV (Currently poor quality composite signal, would like better quality if possible) and control via remote control.

In addition I would like.

4)PVR Live TV functionality with cable box (pause, rewind etc), but with good quality picture, currently I use Scart RGB to Scart RGB on TV and it looks pretty good.

5)Music Jukebox, 300+CD's that I would like to be able to play back via the stereo.

6)DVD playback. Currently I use the Xbox for this but it is really noisy, would be nice to have region free stuff, and to do more with the audio via sc to my stereo.