1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for an AV Novice?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by dtl4882, Oct 11, 2005.

1. dtl4882

dtl4882

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys.

Im new to the AV scene and was hoping you help with the following.

I have just got my own place and I am currently putting up with a 15" TV which is driving me mad.

Im looking for a bit of advice on getting a flat screen LCD/Plasma for the front room.

I have got about 2K to spend and would appreciate any advice/recomendations you could offer.

Im not clued up with the technology but I have found the reference pages on here quite helpful so am gonna print these off and read them (still waiting for net access at home)

I would really like a decent size with good picture/sound quality and HD ready.

Thanks in advance.

D

2. dtl4882

dtl4882

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    can no one help me out?

3. thelurch

thelurch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Theres nothing worse than chasing people up for advice half and hour after your initial post for help. :nono: Patience is a vertu....

4. peahead

peahead

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +261
  5. kam03

kam03

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
  6. peahead

peahead

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +261
    I doubt you would notice any difference between 5ms and 8ms lcd screens response time are only part of it.

7. andrewfee

andrewfee

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +500
    I would personally not recommend the Samsung, especially with that budget. I would say that the samsung is a middle-range screen, wheras you can buy a higher-end screen with that amount of money.

It all depends what you plan to view on the set, what your viewing distance would be etc.

[​IMG]