1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help for a newbie

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by 330uk, Nov 19, 2003.

1. 330uk

330uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if Im posting this in the wrong section.

Ive just purchased a brand new flat. Its a small flat with 3 rooms 1 bedroom, 1 living room and 1 bathroom.
    The flat has been prewired with speakers for each room. All the wiring leads to one point in the living room. The builder has done this to all his flats and its what they do.

Here is the way its been wired
    4 speakers in living room
    4 speakers in bedroom
    1 speaker in bathroom
    The speaker points are mounted at on the wall about 2/3 way up.

Im a total newbie and have no idea what to do. Ive already got a DVD player with 5.1 etc and a decent TV.

I want to know which speaker system should I buy, how should I set it up, what sort of amp/av receiver.

Any information will be greatly appreciated. DO you think a budget of £500 will be enough or should I spend more. Any suggestions of where to buy from ?

Thanks in advance for your help

2. 330uk

330uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    any ideas guys ? I was hoping to buy this weekend and need some ideas.
    Thanks

3. Dom36

Dom36

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Nice idea by the builder. How much did it cost you?
    With a total of 9 speakers then?
    Looks like you may need a couple of amps.
    Personally I would go with 7 identical speakers and 2 main speakers in your living room or bedroom.
    I'm a bit Eltax bias as they make brill speakers for a craking price.
    The 2 main ones I would have Eltax Milleniums 500 (would need to watch volume lvls againsts other speakers), or liberty 5+ which are highly rated at arpound the same price - £145.