1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Explain Anamorphic...?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Firefox, Jul 13, 2001.

1. Firefox

Firefox

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +116
    Hi , I own a Toshiba SD100E DVD player , and a Philps 32PW9616 Widescreen TV ,
    Am i right in thinking that if I play a anamorphic dvd Film in my player it should fill the whole screen..?
    Whenever i watch a anamorphic dvd i still have black bars at the top and bottom of the picture , is this normal...?
    I have my dvd connected to my tv through RGB Scart ,
    I must admit I am fairly new to Home cinema and still dont quite understand exactly what anamorphic discs do , from the info i have read it has lead me to believe it should fill the whole screen on my tv , Am i correct in thinking this way , and if so can anyone think of any reason why the image is not being displayed full screen , I have set up the dvd player to let it know i have a Widescreen TV ,I even went out and brought a expensive scart lead , still no joy
    Thanks in advance for any help

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,025
    There are two "aspect ratios" you need to be aware of.

The first is the VIDEO SIGNAL ASPECT RATIO. This can be only one of two - either 4:3 or 16:9. This matches exactly with the two shapes of TV screen available. An anamorphic DVD has a VIDEO aspect ratio of 16:9 (assuming, of course, that you have your DVD player set correctly to output 16:9 where available on the disc).

The second is the FILM ASPECT RATIO. Films can be made in any one of a number of ratios varying from 4:3 (rare nowadays) right up to about 22:9 (very wide). In the cinema, they have very wide screens (usually) with masking at the sides that can be moved. So, the wider the aspect ratio, the wider the visible part of the screen.