HELP! Digital coaxial out from Sony Freeview not working!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Kopacabana, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'm at my wit's end!

    I have a Sony Freeview box which I want to connect to the digital coaxial in of my Sony surround system.

    The output from the Freeview box requires a 3.5mm jack so a guy at Maplin advised me to buy a mono 3.5mm jack-to-coaxial pin. I've plugged it all in and can't get a sound. What's going on???

    I've spent almost a year researching the bits and pieces I want for my home cinema system and I can't get the thing connected!

    Help!

    :suicide:
     
  2. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    What models are you trying to interface?

    Have you looked through the menus to see if you have to turn the o/p on?

    Gareth.
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,311
    I suspect the digital output on this box is optical. Without seeing one, it may be either:

    - a separate port, not the 3.5mm jack socket you describe. Usually a small square and often protected by a plastic dummy plug in the hole. In which case you need a standard TOSLINK (optical) cable*.

    or

    - combined with a 3.5mm jack (as on many portable DVDs). In which case you need a mini-TOSLINK cable*.

    * with the other end depending on whether you have a spare OPTICAL input on your amplifier. If yes, it will almost certainly be a standard (square) optical connector. If you only have a wired (coax) digital input, you will need an optical > wired converter.



    EDIT: Another look at a web spec says the optical out is combined with the analogue out. Which suggests it is the second "or" above. Do a search for TOSLINK at Maplin.co.uk to find options, cables, adaptors, etc
     
  4. RBJTech

    RBJTech
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Ratings:
    +101
    Hi - See Attachment - this is a toslink to 3.5mm optical convertor that plugs into the back of the Sony Freeview box (I have one too..) The only place I could find the converter was bundled with a Toslink cable - I seem to recall it was from Curry's/Dixons - definately a high street superstore. I hope this helps.

    Also please remember that this is Dolby Digital 2.0 ONLY - it is NOT 5.1 !

    Hope this helps !

    Richard.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    Sound like you are talking about the Sony VU-800 Freeview box, if so it has the 3.5mm minijack (combined anlg & toslink output) if so you will need one of these :

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/t...Digital Optical Cables/op=eq.html?id=XzhHXn3B

    Many laptops use this connection ie combined 3.5mm anlg minijack & 3.5mm minijack toslink output. For digital output you need a Toslink cable (optical) with a 3.5mm minijack end and a Toslink end.

    PS you are perfectly within your right to take back the coaxial anlg cable you bought from Maplins as you were advised incorrectly about what cable you required. Just ask Maplins to swap for one of these :

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=35921&criteria=Toslink&doy=24m3

    HTHs
     
  6. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for all your help guys, it's much appreciated!

    Hope I can get it sorted out this weekend!
     
  7. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    BUt why doesn't my digital coaxial work?
     
  8. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    You havn't given us the model number...

    If I assume you have the VTX-D800U , then the socket is a combined analogue stereo/ 3.5mm mini toslink optical SPDIF o/p.

    This unit does not support coax SPDIF. If this is the same as your unit, then you've just not got it...

    My reference was http://www.npe.sony.co.uk/manual.pdf

    Regards,

    Gareth.
     
  9. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks Gareth - you're right. Guess I'll have to throw my digital coaxial in the bin.

    Anyone want it?
     
  10. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    No problems...

    Dont let go of your interconnect... Just gives you another excuse to buy another componant for your system ;)

    Gareth.
     

Share This Page

Loading...