1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Denon AVR 1000 -Protect-

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Mantis, Dec 11, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Mantis

Mantis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im not sure if this goes here or not, Im hoping it does, Im new to the whole difference in systems thing. Its a Denon AVR 1000 surround sound receiver that My dad has had for alog time, and for xmas he is giving it to me along with 2 really tall Klipsh Forte 2' speakers, 2 small JBL speakers, and a panasonic center speaker, along with the receiver. Well the receiver hasnt worked in about 4 months because one day I went to turn it on and it came up like normal, then after it passes through the scrolling things it says Protect and it has an A in the bottom right corner. Im a computer guy and Im just guessing that this is an error code of some sort. Can someone help me out with figuring out how to fix this thing? Or if I would take it to somewhere howmuch would it cost me to get it fixed and what do you think is wrong with it.

At first I thought it was a blown fuse, but I opened it up and checked, and all the fuses are good, and no blown capacitors or anything. I dont know what would have caused it to go into protection mode but I hope I can get it fixed soon :) Thanks in advance guys!

2. Mantis

Mantis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone?

3. Mantis

Mantis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Come on pls. :(

4. MagicBoy

MagicBoy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    Protect mode usually means there's something causing a short circuit eg a speaker wire is shorting or the amp is overheating.

Check the speaker connections, make sure no +ve and -ve wires are touching.

5. Mantis

Mantis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0